Joshua Jevons Portfolio



When thinking about logos

It's important to consider the different forms a logo can take when thinking about your brand. The main function of a logo is identification. It must be distinct and legible at sizes large and small to maximize usability. Logos can be divided into six categories; wordmark, acronym / monogram, literal, product / service, allegorical and abstract.


One goal of a designer is to provide diverse directions that align with you brand's personality in oder to make choosing a direction easier. This is a good first step. Below are examples of fortune 500 identities placed in their respective logo category.    

01 Wordmark

A logo that is built with the name of the company alone, in order to create a straight forward, yet distinguishable identity is called a Wordmark.

Artboard 25 copy-100.jpg


02 Literal

A logo that uses a symbol to communicate a direct translation of the company’s name is considered Literal.

Artboard 25-100.jpg

03 Allegorical

A logo that may be indirectly related to the company that incorporates historical or mythological narratives, or other borrowed meaning, as the basis for its design is considered Allegorical.

Artboard 26-100.jpg


A logo that communicates the product or service that the company offers is considered Product / Service.

04 Product

Artboard 26 copy-100.jpg

A logo that transcends familiarity, is wholly new, subjective and open to interpretation is called Abstract.

05 Abstract

Artboard 26 copy 2-100.jpg

A logo that is built using the initials of the company to create a unique typographical symbol is called an Acronym or Monogram.

06 Acronym

Artboard 26 copy 3-100.jpg